Simmons University, Abilene, Texas 1930 Basketball Team

Simmons University, Abilene, Texas 1930 Basketball Team

Now Hardin-Simmons University.

On the team (and probably in the photograph): Harold Matthews (All-Conference Center, possibly 2nd row, 3rd from right), Fred Houghton (front row, third from left), Johnnie Green (All-Conference Forward, 2nd row, 2nd from left), Bob McCollum (All Conference Forward), L. M. Scroggins, Ed. Powell, John D. Harrison, Curtis Hamilton, Jack Scott.

Far back is Leslie Cranfill, basketball coach.

The names of the other players are unknown.

Photo from the 1930 Bronco yearbook of Simmons University

To make this photo larger, click on the word "original" above.

Your Grandmother, Your Aunts & Uncles, Your Great-Grandfather - who will you find in the U.S. Yearbook Collection of yearbooks from the early 1900s to the 1980s. Thousands of full high school and college yearbooks scanned and on line.